Butter. Clarified.

As anyone familiar with the Whole 30 knows, butter, oh beautiful butter, is out for the 30 days. But ghee and/or clarified butter is in, and it’s the only form of dairy that is allowed. But when you make ghee or clarified butter, you are simply removing the milk solids…so is it still technically dairy at that point? These are questions for people smarter than myself.

Anywho, I made the most gorgeous clarified butter the other day, if I do say so myself. I was at Trader Joe’s, about to throw some ghee into my cart when I said “Naw, I’m gonna make it myself! Go Steph!” In the same spirit I also grabbed a pumpkin and declared to not make it into a jack-o-lantern but figure out how to eat it. We’ll see about that…week and a half later and it’s still hanging out on my planter.

Back to butter: kerrygold.JPGKerrygold is still my brand of choice, though I’ve heard Organic Valley makes a decent grassfed butter as well. Pretty sure unsalted butter is always recommended for making ghee/clarified butter.buttermelting3.JPGOver medium to low heat, melt your butter down completely.  (I tend to start mine on high heat and then turn it down, just because it looks cool when you throw it in.) butter-melting2.JPG meltingbutter1.JPG When your butter has melted, allow it to simmer until the milk solids float to the top and become foamy.  This will take several minutes. clarifiedbutterbubbling.JPG Once you can see that the milk solids are at the top (but before they become brown – that is how you make ghee), skim off the milk solids with your handy dandy spoon. skimming_butter   IMG_3334.JPGSkim as much off as you can until only the separated oil remains.strainedclarifiedbutter.JPGStrain the remainder through a cheesecloth.IMG_3337.JPG clarifbuttercheesecoth.JPG clarif_butter_cheesecloth.JPGViola!!clarifiedbutter3.JPGWe have clarified butter.  And it is just gorgeous.

If made properly, it should be shelf stable, but you can refrigerate it as well to preserve freshness longer.

clarifiedbutter2.JPGTo make ghee, instead of skimming off the milk solids, you would instead allow them to bubble until they brown and sink to the bottom of your pan. You will wait for all the solids to brown and sink and then you simply pour through a cheesecloth. Ghee has a slightly different texture than clarified butter – but both are good.

I’ve been having eggs for breakfast almost every day on my Whole 30.  I prefer the texture of how eggs turn out with clarified butter vs. ghee (find it smoother, richer – more like they taste with regular ‘ol butter), so that’s primarily why I opted for clarified butter.  Ghee is great for frying meat however – especially Cracklin Chicken.  YUM!

Now to find a recipe for that pumpkin…maybe I’ll just roast the seeds and call it good enough.

What do you think? Leave a comment here.

