Recipe Review: Danielle Walker’s Peruvian-Style Chicken from Meals Made Simple

I’m sure that all the legit food bloggers make a recipe several times before blogging about it.  Gotta make sure the end result tastes good, take time to get quality photos (clear of additional debris in their kitchen), and make sure they’ve done everything correctly….well, not me. I don’t have time for all that. I made this recipe for the very first time last night and now I’m gonna tell you about it. What you see here is what I got. And if you look closely enough, you just might see my toes and my kitchen sink in the photos.

But, even though I had never made it before, I had a good feeling that this recipe for Peruvian-Style Chicken would be a solid choice. Everything I’ve made so far from Danielle Walker’s Against All Grain: Meals Made Simple has been delish!! Plus sweet potatoes, chicken, sweet onions, cumin, and paprika…how could this go wrong!?

Peruvian_CHicken_Recipe

First is the spice rub for the chicken.  Mix up Paprika, Cumin, Salt, and Pepper.

spices_forrub

Add some olive oil.

olive_oil_in_Spices

Lemon juice!  Always just squeeze a lemon, none of that jar business.

lemon_squeeze

Few cloves of garlic.  Recipe calls for three.  I think I popped for at least five.

IMG_3264

Couple tablespoons of white vinegar. I used white balsamic vinegar, as that’s what I had. Same thing…right?  (Probably not. Meh.)

white_balsamic_vinegar

Last ingredient in the rub: dried oregano.

oregano

Mix er up!

spice_rub

spice_rub_mixed

Time for the chicken. Recipe calls for using a whole chicken, cut into parts.  I’m cooking for one and wanted this dish to last for about two meals, so I used used a few legs and one breast.

raw_chicken

Rub the spice rub all over!

IMG_3272

spice_rubbed_chicken

Now for the rest of the dish.  Veggie time!!

veggie_roasting_bits

Sweet potatoes!

sweet_potatoes

Yellow peppers!

yellow_peppers

Sweet yellow onion!

yellow_onion

More olive oil, salt, and pepper atop the veggies – as you please!  Dump in pan…

IMG_3278

I quickly realized as I was chopping my veggies that I probably needed a larger pan…#CookingForOneProblems.

Additionally at this point, I realized that I had not completely read the recipe, which said to put the veggies on the bottom and the chicken on the top.  So I just used a tongs to dig out the chicken and put it on top. (Rocket science, I know.)

peruvian_chicken_dish_prep

Cooking time!  Let roast for 20 minutes (at 425) and then stir.  I took the chicken out to stir the veggies well.

stirring_chicken

30-40 more minutes in the oven til suppertime!

Peruvian_style_chicken

My end result was pretty darn tasty! This dish had a very unique taste, like nothing I think I’ve ever had before. Almost reminded me of korean food, though I have not had korean food for years…so I might not know what I’m talking about there. But it has a smoky, yet also slightly sweet & sour taste.  You can definitely taste the nodes of citrus plus the yellow peppers and onions, sweetening the dish a bit. But combined with the paprika and cumin, it’s unique kick. The taste is so distinct and strong that I don’t think I could eat this several days in a row without getting sick of it. So, while this is not a recipe I would binge cook to eat all week, it’s definitely something tasty and different to enjoy!  And, whole 30 friendly!!  Can’t beat that.

peruvian_style_chicken_dinner
Danielle Walker’s Peruvian-Style Chicken
What do you think? Leave a comment here.

